Meet the Jury

Click to enlarge
The international jury selects the winner of the Chemistry for the Future Solvay Prize from amongst the list of candidates proposed by the Nomination Committee.

The 2015 jury is composed of:

Håkan Wennerström, President of the jury, is Professor of theoretical and physical chemistry at the University of Lund, Sweden. He is a former chairman of the jury for the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Paul Chaikin, Professor of Physics at the New York University, USA, specializes in solid state physics, in particular soft matter.

Christopher Dobson, John Humphrey Plummer Professor of Chemical and Structural Biology at the University of Cambridge, and Master of St John’s College, Cambridge, UK, is a specialist in protein folding and misfolding.

Gerhard Ertl, Professor emeritus at the Department of Physical Chemistry, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft in Berlin, Germany, won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his studies of chemical processes on solid surface.

Jean-Marie Lehn, Professor at the Institut d’Etudes Avancées de l’Université de Strasbourg and Professor emeritus at the Collège de France in Paris. Lehn, an early innovator in the field of supramolecular chemistry, received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his synthesis of cryptands.

Peter G. Schultz is Professor at the Scripps Research Institute in California USA and Director of the California Institute for Biomedical Research. He was awarded the first Chemistry for the Future Solvay Prize.

With the contribution of two Solvay Science advisers : 

Paul Baekelmans, Science Adviser to the Solvay Group, is Professor emeritus at the Université Libre de Bruxelles.He chairs the Conseil National de Chimie of the Académie des Sciences de Belgique.

Patrick Maestro, member of the Académie des Technologies in France, Scientific Director of Solvay, was at he origin of the creation of several joint teams between Solvay, CNRS and universities worldwide.

Solvay Prize jury_20150924_011-b

Left to right: Dr Patrick Maestro, Prof. Jean-Marie Lehn, Prof. Paul Chaikin,
Prof. Christophe Dobson, Prof. Gerhard Ertl, Prof. Hakan Wennerström, Dr. Paul Baekelmans, (Missing Prof. Peter G. Schultz).